Micho Releases The Squad For Cosafa Tournament

Micho Releases The Squad For Cosafa Tournament

Final squad for the 2021 Cosafa Cup comprising seven foreign based players with Mamelodi Sundowns shot-stopper making the cut.

Zambia has carried a blend of youth and experience as Micho seeks to find his long-term competitive squad for the Chipolopolo.

Some of the players that were used during the FIFA international window international friendly matches in June have made the cut among them Dominic Chanda, Isaac Shamujompa, Brian Mwila, Benedict Chepeshi, Spencer Sautu, Benson Sakala, Gregory Sanjase, Moses Phiri and Salualni Phiri.

Zambia has one eye on the September Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers with the Cosafa Cup being used as a dress rehearsal.

The Chipolopolo are placed in Group A alongside South Africa, Botswana, Ewatini and Lesotho.

Zambia’s first game is on Thursday against Lesotho before facing Eswatini two days later.

On July 13 the Chipolopolo will face the Zebras of Botswana before concluding their Group A action 24 hours later against South Africa.

Zambia are the defending champions and have won the Cosafa Cup five times, one behind Zimbabwe.

Teams have been given leeway to register more than 20 players given the anticipated intensity of the competition which will see Zambia play four group matches with two additional fixtures for teams that will make the semis.



Kennedy Mweene (Mamelodi Sundowns-RSA), Gregory Sanjase (Young Green Eagles), Lameck Siame (Kabwe Warriors)


Adrian Chama, Simon Silwimba (both Zesco United), Isaac Shamujompa (Buildcon), Dominic Chanda (Kabwe Warriors), Kabaso Chongo (TP Mazembe-DRC), Benedict Chepeshi (Red Arrows), Zachariah Chilongoshi (Power Dynamos), Prosper Chiluya (Red Arrows)


Benson Sakala, Spencer Sautu (both Power Dynamos), Salulani Phiri (Polokwane City-RSA), Augustine Mulenga (Amazulu-RSA), Kelvin Mubanga (Zesco United), Felix Bulaya (Red Arrows), Gamphani Lungu (SuperSport United-RSA), Roderick Kabwe (Black Leopards-RSA), Prince Mumba (Kabwe Warriors), Collins Sikombe (Lusaka Dynamos)


Brian Mwila (Buildcon), Justin Shonga (Cape Town City-RSA), Moses Phiri (Zanaco), Jimmy Mukeya (Napasa Stars).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button