Bruce Mwape Announces 30-Member Provisional Squad for Showdown Against Ghana

Bruce Mwape Announces 30-Member Provisional Squad for Showdown Against Ghana

Ahead of the crucial encounter against Ghana in the 2024 Paris Olympics Women’s Football Tournament qualifiers, Bruce Mwape, coach of the Zambia Women’s National Team, has unveiled his provisional squad.

Mwape has opted to maintain the core of the squad that secured qualification for the 2024 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) against Angola. Notably, he has introduced Tabo Miselo and Florence Banda from the FAZ Women’s Super League, recognizing their outstanding performances for the parliamentarians.

Returning to the fold after an eight-year absence is Kabange Mupopo, the Green Buffaloes striker, alongside Elite Ladies midfielder Comfort Selemani, who missed the WAFCON qualifier matches against Angola.

Unfortunately, Red Arrows captain Susan Banda will be sidelined for the Ghana matches due to an injury sustained during a FAZ Women’s Super League fixture against Police Dove Queens FC on January 27, 2024.

The first leg clash against Ghana’s Black Queens is scheduled to take place at the Baba Yara Sports Stadium in Kumasi on February 23, followed by the return fixture five days later.

Below is the provisional squad:


Catherine Musonda (Hapoel Raanana Women FC-Israel)
Leticia Lungu (ZESCO Ndola Girls)
Ngambo Musole (Green Buffaloes)
Loveness Tonge (Green Eagles)

Natasha Kapombo (INDENI Roses)
Tabo Miselo (National Assembly)
Martha Tembo (BIIK Kazygurt Shymkent-Kazakhstan)
Lushomo Mweemba, Martha Katila Banda, Esther Banda, Esther Siamfuko (all Green Buffaloes)
Pauline Zulu (Elite Ladies)
Judith Soko (YASA)

Misozi Zulu, Hellen Chanda (both Hakkarigucu Spur-Turkey)
Ireen Lungu (BIIK Kazygurt Shymkent-Kazakhstan)
Comfort Selemani (Elite Ladies)
Evarine Susan Katongo (Green Buffaloes)
Salome Phiri (Green Buffaloes)
Marjory Mulenga, Avell Chitundu (both ZESCO Ndola Girls)

Rachael Kundananji (Madrid CFF-Spain)
Barbra Banda (Shanghai Shengli-China)
Rachael Nachula (Hapoel Jerusalem-Israel)
Fridah Kabwe (ZESCO Ndola Girls)
Namasiku Lungowe (ZISD Women)
Kabange Mupopo (Green Buffaloes)
Eneless Phiri (Nkwazi Queens)
Norin Betani (INDENI Roses)
Florence Banda (National Assembly)

Related Articles

Back to top button