BREAKING NEWS: Chipolopolo Boys Drawn to Face Morocco in African Qualifiers for 2026 FIFA World Cup

Chipolopolo Boys Drawn to Face Morocco in African Qualifiers for 2026 FIFA World Cup

In a thrilling announcement, the Chipolopolo Boys, Zambia’s national football team, have been drawn into a formidable group for the African qualifiers of the 2026 FIFA Men’s World Cup. Among their opponents are the giants of African football, Morocco, along with Congo Brazzaville, Tanzania, Niger, and Eritrea.

The draw sets up a highly anticipated clash between Zambia and Morocco, with Morocco being the highest-ranked team in Africa and having made history in the 2022 FIFA World Cup by reaching the semifinals in Qatar. The Chipolopolo Boys will face a tough challenge as they aim to secure their spot in the prestigious tournament.

Other intriguing matchups in the qualifiers include Sudan versus South Sudan in Group B, and the renewal of the rivalry between Nigeria and South Africa in Group C. South Africa will also face Zimbabwe and Lesotho in the same group, making it a fiercely competitive section.

Group I features an enticing showdown between Ghana and Mali, adding further excitement to the draw.

The group winners from each of the nine groups will earn automatic qualification for the 48-team World Cup, which will be jointly hosted by Canada, Mexico, and the United States. The four best runners-up will then enter the CAF playoffs to determine the African representative in the intercontinental playoffs.

The qualifiers are scheduled to begin in November of this year, with matchdays taking place from November 2023 to November 2025.

The full draw for the 2026 FIFA World Cup African qualifiers is as follows:

  1. Group A:
    Egypt, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Sierra Leone, Ethiopia, Djibouti
  2. Group B:
    Senegal, Congo DR, Mauritania, Togo, Sudan, South Sudan
  3. Group C:
    Nigeria, South Africa, Benin, Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Lesotho
  4. Group D:
    Cameroon, Cape Verde, Angola, Libya, Eswatini, Mauritius
  5. Group E:
    Morocco, Zambia, Congo-Brazzaville, Tanzania, Niger, Eritrea
  6. Group F:
    Ivory Coast, Gabon, Kenya, The Gambia, Burundi, Seychelles
  7. Group G:
    Algeria, Guinea, Uganda, Mozambique, Botswana, Somalia
  8. Group H:
    Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Namibia, Malawi, Liberia, Sao Tome and Principe
  9. Group I:
    Mali, Ghana, Madagascar, Central African Republic, Comoros Islands, Chad

Football fans around the world are eagerly anticipating these qualifiers, as the battle for World Cup spots begins in November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button