Arrows’ Coronation Delayed, Power Triumphs; Maite, Kansanshi, Trident, ZANACO, and ZESCO Win

Arrows’ Coronation Delayed, Power Triumphs; Maite, Kansanshi, Trident, ZANACO, and ZESCO Win

The Red Arrows will have to postpone their coronation for at least a few more days following a narrow 1-0 defeat at the hands of Kabwe Warriors. The Zambia Air Force-sponsored team required just a single point to secure their 3rd League title.

Approaching the 31st week of action, Chisi Mbewe and his squad were in high spirits, having gone unbeaten in 17 consecutive matches and clinched the ABSA Cup title against Kabwe Warriors a mere 72 hours earlier.

Killian Kanguluma found the net for Kabwe Warriors, avenging their previous loss in the ABSA Cup final and handing his team a well-deserved victory.

In other matches, Power Dynamos dominated with a resounding 5-0 victory over Forest Rangers. Austin Muwowo, facing his former team, scored twice, supported by goals from Joshua Mutale, Moses Phiri, and Frederick Mulambia.

Mighty Mufulira Wanderers secured a vital win against Nkwazi, with Tresor Ilunga’s early goal lifting them out of the relegation zone to 12th place with 37 points.

Kansanshi Dynamos boosted their survival chances with a narrow 1-0 win over Mutondo Stars, courtesy of Dave Daka’s lone goal. Meanwhile, ZESCO United triumphed 2-1 over FC MUZA, with Enock Sakala Jr. and Dennis Nya finding the net, while Andrew Phiri pulled one back for FC MUZA from the penalty spot.

Prison Leopards settled for a goalless draw against NAPSA Stars, leaving them needing to win all remaining games to avoid relegation.

Week 31’s action continues tomorrow with Nkana facing Green Buffaloes at Edwin Imboela Stadium.

MTN Super League Week 31 Results (Wednesday, May 15th, 2024):

Power Dynamos 5-0 Forest Rangers Prison Leopards 0-0 NAPSA Stars Green Eagles 0-1 ZANACO (Isaac Shamujompa 58’) Nkwazi 0-1 Mufulira Wanderers (Tresor Ilunga 9’) Konkola Blades 0-1 Trident FC (Billy Ntumba 72’) Kabwe Warriors 1-0 Red Arrows (Killian Kanguluma 5’) Kansanshi Dynamos 1-0 Mutondo Stars (Dave Daka 32’) ZESCO United 2-1 FC MUZA (Enock Sakala Jr 32’, Dennis Nya 60’ | Andrew Phiri 53′ pen)

Related Articles

Back to top button